SCI LogoRSC Logo

Sir Eric Rideal Award and Lecture

The Rideal lecture became a joint Colloids group award in 2006 and is awarded to honour significant and sustained contribution to the field. Candidates need not be UK-based necessarily, but they will have had a sustained and significant connections with the UK colloid, interface and surface science community and a marked impact upon work in the UK.

The recipient of the Sir Eric Rideal (Founder's) Award and Lecture for 2017 is Prof Daan Frenkel, University of Cambridge.

Award Information

Type of award: Lifetime/career achievement.

Frequency: Annual.

Deadline for nominations: 1st March (annually).

Who Nominates? - CSCG and CISG members.

Contact: Awards Coordinator (see Contacts page)

Further information can be found at this link

On-line nomination form can be found at this link.

(formerly known as the Founder's Lecture)

Past recipients include:

1970  Prof J H De Boer, Delft Technological University

1971  Dr B A Pethica, Unilever PSL 

1972  M K Schwitzer 

1973  Prof J T Davies, Birmingham University

1974  Prof D J Crisp 

1975  Prof D D Eley, Nottingham University 

1976  Sir Harry Melville, London University 

1977  Dr A D Bangham, Cambridge University 

1978  Dr D A Haydon, Cambridge University 

1979  Dr J A Kitchener, Imperial College 

1980  Prof R M Barrer, Imperial College 

1981  Prof D Tabor, Cambridge University 

1982  Prof K S W Sing, Brunel University 

1983  Prof D H Everett, Bristol University 

1984  Prof J Th G Overbeek, Utrecht University 

1985  Prof R H Ottewill, Bristol University

1986  Prof Sir J M Thomas, Royal Institution, London 

1987  Prof J Lyklema, Wageningen University 

1988  Prof A I Bailey, Imperial College

1989  Prof J D Birchall, ICI

1990  Prof Sir Sam Edwards, Cambridge University 

1991  Dr Th F Tadros, ICI/Zeneca

1992  Prof H Sonntag, Max Planck Institute, Berlin

1993  Prof B J Briscoe, Imperial College 

1994  Prof B R Jennings, English China Clays 

1995  Prof G J T Tiddy, UMIST

1996  Prof A M Cazabat, College de France, Paris

1997  Prof B Vincent, Bristol University (Microgels: examples of functional colloids)

1998  Prof J Gregory, University College London (Flocs, Fractals and Fluctuations)

1999  Dr T D Blake Kodak  (A Toe in the Water)

2000  Prof D Tildesley, Unilever PSL (Mesoscale Modelling of Polymer Microstructures)

2001  Prof J Pethica, Oxford University (Nanomechanics)

2002  Prof Helmut Möhwald, Max Planck Institute, Berlin (Intelligent Polymeric Capsules and Interfaces)

2003  Prof Brian H Robinson, East Anglia University 

2004  Prof Terence Cosgrove, Bristol University 

2005  Dr James Goodwin, Bristol University 

2006  Prof Eric Dickinson, University of Leeds 

2007  Alan Pitt, Kodak 

2008  Prof Julian Eastoe, Bristol University 

2009  Prof Richard Buscall (MSACT Research & Consulting) 

2010  Prof Thomas W Healy, University of Melbourne

2011  Dr Robert Thomas, University of Oxford

2012  Prof Geoff Maitland, Imperial College

2013  Prof Jeff Penfold, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

2014  Prof Athene Donald, University of Cambridge

2015  Prof Paul Luckham, Imperial College, London

2016 No Award

2017 Prof Daan Frenkel, University of Cambridge

Print Email