McBain award lecture and symposium, Tuesday, 12th December 2017, SCI, London

Watching colloids work

The McBain medal is awarded annually by the RSC/SCI Joint Colloids Group to recognize a rising star in colloid and interface science. The 2017 McBain medal awardee is Dr Rico Tabor (Monash University). This meeting showcased some of the latest work in colloids that respond to external stimuli, and state-of-the-art techniques to ‘watch them work’, with applications in areas as diverse as smart water treatment and functional foods.

The meeting was held on Tuesday, 12th December 2017 at the SCI in London and included talks from

• Prof Julian Eastoe, University of Bristol, UK

• Prof Alex Routh, University of Cambridge, UK

• Dr Isabelle Grillo, Institut Laue-Langevin, France

• Dr Sarah Rogers, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, STFC, UK Prof Ray Dagastine, University of Melbourne, Australia

• Prof Charl Faul, University of Bristol, UK

The meeting will conclude with the award lecture from Dr Rico Tabor. A dedicated poster session will also give students the opportunity to present their work.

A flyer for the event can be found at this link.


You can become a member by joining one of the two groups:

SCI Colloid & Surface Chemistry Group (CSCG).

RSC Colloid & Interface Science Group (CISG).

The former is open to SCI members only. The latter is open both to RSC members and associates AND to scientists and engineers who belong, either, to a chartered professional or learned body from outside the chemical sciences, or to another chemical society with whom the RSC has entered into an international partnership agreement approved by RSC Council. Non-RSC members of CISG pay RSC a small annual fee to cover administration and postage.

For information on how to become a member of the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) or Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) please see the links below: 

Non-members of RSC wishing to join CISG should contact the RSC Membership Dept. (contact details at, asking to join the Colloid & Interface Science Interest Group, only, and mentioning their own affiliation.  The membership administration fee is £10 currently. In case of difficulty please contact a member of the Joint Committee.

© Colloids & Surface Science Group. All rights reserved.