McBain Awards Day SCI, London, UK Tuesday 8 December 2015

Professor Rachel O’ Reilly from Warwick University has been awarded the 2014 McBain medal for her pioneering research in novel polymeric nanoparticles, responsive materials and controlled self-assembly.  The 2015 McBain medal has been awarded to Professor Giuseppe Battaglia of Univerity College, London, for his work in developing novel functional polymers for biomedical applications, design rules for self-assembly of soft-matter and the development of colloidal systems for drug delivery. Both winners were presented with their award at the McBain meeting on 8th December at the SCI Headquarters in Belgrave Square. Additionally invited speakers at the symposium were:

  • Prof Tony Ryan, Sheffield University
  • Dr Oscar Ces, Imperial College
  • Prof Steve Armes, Sheffield University
  • Prof Stefan Bon, Warwick University


You can become a member by joining one of the two groups:

SCI Colloid & Surface Chemistry Group (CSCG).

RSC Colloid & Interface Science Group (CISG).

The former is open to SCI members only. The latter is open both to RSC members and associates AND to scientists and engineers who belong, either, to a chartered professional or learned body from outside the chemical sciences, or to another chemical society with whom the RSC has entered into an international partnership agreement approved by RSC Council. Non-RSC members of CISG pay RSC a small annual fee to cover administration and postage.

For information on how to become a member of the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) or Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) please see the links below: 

Non-members of RSC wishing to join CISG should contact the RSC Membership Dept. (contact details at, asking to join the Colloid & Interface Science Interest Group, only, and mentioning their own affiliation.  The membership administration fee is £10 currently. In case of difficulty please contact a member of the Joint Committee.

© Colloids & Surface Science Group. All rights reserved.